Straightforward Questions

This is the second group of questions to explore who I am and how I can tailor habit-forming to suit me. From the book Better than Before by Gretchen Rubin.

How I like to spend my time:

  • What time of day do I feel energized? When do I drag?
    • I feel most energized in the afternoon. I drag in the mornings and in the evenings. (for now)
  • Do I like racing from one activity to another, or do I prefer unhurried transitions
    • I do not like to feel rushed.
  • What activities take up my time but aren’t particularly useful or stimulating?
    • I spend way too much time on meaningless apps on my phone and then wonder where the day went.
  • Would I like to spend more time with friends, or by myself?
    • While I do like spending time with friends, and need human interaction, I actually prefer to be by myself. If I don’t have enough me time – I feel overwhelmed, and if I don’t have enough human interaction – I go stir crazy.
  • Do I have several things on my calendar that I anticipate with pleasure?
    • I don’t really make plans besides work. I hardly have anything else on my calendar. Things happen when they happen.
  • What can I do for hours without feeling bored?
    • Read. Definitely read.
  • What daily or weekly activity did I do for fun when I was 10 years old?
    • I read a lot when I was 10. I also had a summer love affair with my bicycle. I think I rode over every street in my hometown.

What I value:

  • What’s most satisfying to me: saving time, money, or effort?
    • Saving effort. Figuring out shortcuts. Although I have no idea what I’m saving the effort for.
  • Does it bother me to act differently from other people? or do I get a charge out of it.
    • It definitely bothers me. Plus, it take too much brain-power to remember who knows what.
  • Do I spend a lot of time on something that’s important to someone else, but not to me?
    • I spend a lot of time on something that’s important to someone else. Reading other people’s content on the internet, but not any of my own is a good example.
  • If I had $500 that I had to spend on fun, how would I spend it?
    • Books. 🙂 I would buy all of the books that I’ve had on my waiting list.
  • Do I like to listen to experts, or do I prefer to figure things out for myself?
    • I prefer to research for myself what the experts say is the best way…so both? Having someone I know just tell me what I should do doesn’t work. I have to know all the why behind it.
  • Does spending money on an activity make me feel more committed to it, or less?
    • Less. I know I should feel more committed, but historically that has not been the case with me.
  • Would I be happy to see my children have the life I’ve had?
    • No. I’ve had way too much crap go on. I would rather have them be smarter and figure things out sooner than I did.

My Current Habits

  • Am I more likely to indulge in a bad habit in a group, or when I’m alone?
    • When I’m alone. No one is there to judge me.
  • If I could magically, effortlessly change one habit in my life, what would it be?
    • Exercising – or in my case lack thereof.
  • If the people around me could change one of my habits, what would it be?
    • **Note to self – ask DH**
  • Of my existing habits, which would I like to see my children adopt? Or not?
    • I would like my children to not adopt my habit of procrastination.
Leave a Reply

